Welcome to Agartala Press Club

A witness to changing graph of media

About Us

The history of Tripura press is traced to the way back in 1860 with the publication of monthly literary newspaper Gnyan Prakashani from Bikrampur of present Bangladesh by one Kailash Chandra Sarkar. There is a chronological development of media since then in Tripura. After independence in 1947, the growth of the press became consistent and gradually it took a professional shape in Tripura. With the development of media industry in the state, the then legends of journalism like Lt Jiten Paul, Lt Biresh Chakraborty, Lt R K Kamaljit Singh, Lt Khagendra Nath Bhattacharjee and Sri Subal Kumar Dey first raised the demand for setting up Press Club under the banner of ‘Tripura Sangbabik Sangha’ soon after the first elected government of Tripura state sworn in 1972. 

From the desk of the General Secretary

Agartala Press Club provides opportunities for journalists and others interested in the media to meet and learn of new developments, debate the latest issues and explore our collective past as communicators.

Our events are many and varied, from the purely social to discussions on matters of importance not only to journalism, but to the furtherance and protection of free speech throughout the world.


Jayanta Bhattacharjee


Syed Sajjad Ali

Vice President

Ramakanta Dey

General Secretary

Abhishek Dey

Assistant General Secretary

Kamal Choudhury

Assistant General Secretary

Abhishek Debbarma

Executive Member

Manish Lodh

Executive Member

Sourojit Paul

Executive Member

Mihir Lal Sarkar

Executive Member

Abhjiit Bhattacharjee

Executive Member


For any kind of assistance, please feel free to contact us


Sachin Debbarman Sarani, Agartala, Tripura(w) - 799001


agartalapc@gmail.com pressclubagt@gmail.com


+91 9436 124945
(General Secretary)

Scroll to Top